City Travels: Feeling Festive at the Ayala Triangle Park

5 Jan

It was literally a few days before Christmas, and just like a number of young, working adults, I was not feeling its spirit. It wasn’t that I wanted to become a female Grinch or anything. Because of the stress at work (both at the day job and freelance), figuring out what gifts to give to my loved ones and the financial chaos that goes with it, I have yet to be as giddy and excited for Christmas as I was when I was 10. Signs of aging, I suppose?

Add the fact that I was working in the busy streets of the Makati Central Business District. Sure the streets are filled with lights and decor, but the people remained the same: all rushing about, probably trying to get to the office/home the soonest.  It seemed like the days during the Christmas season are no different.

Plus, I’ve been feeling down lately because of the tragedy brought by Typhoon Sendong to my beloved hometown. Though I am here in Manila, I can feel the worries, fears and sadness in Cagayan de Oro.

Oh so colorful!

It’s a good thing that the Ayala Triangle Park has an annual light and sounds show during December, the Symphony of Lights and Sounds show.

I wasn’t able to watch it last year and since I wanted to feel a bit more festive and happy, I asked some of my good friends if they’d like to join me in watching the show this time. (I actually watched it a few days before with one of my officemates. I remember getting so excited that I texted my good friends right away and scheduled another visit. ;D)

I was coming from the office and while waiting, I took some photos first.

We scheduled to go there last December 21, literally just a few days before Christmas day. I rendered overtime at work so I don’t need to spend a lot of time waiting, as the park was a mere 5-minute walk away from our office building.

I wasn’t in the mood to work anymore and they turned off the airconditioning. So I headed out and walked to the park around 6:30 P.M.. Unfortunately, my friends Jhoann and Thea were running late because of the heavy traffic and the riot that is the MRT.

So what is a girl to do? Take photos, of course!

More and more people came to the park!

SGV. One of the few moments I can take a photo of buildings without getting harassed by security guards. 🙂

The nativity scene at the Philippine Stock Exchange building

And after what seemed like hours (but really just a few minutes), they came! After small chit-chat and giving them their gifts, I led them to where the show is. They came right in the middle of one, so we decided to sit on the benches first and wait for the succeeding shows.

How can you not feel the Christmas spirit?

We sat down and bonded, just like what we always do when we’re together. I’ve been great friends with these girls for about seven years now and it’s awesome to be with them at something like this.

Then of course, pictures were in order (especially with these two ;D)! We had to stay for a bit longer because another friend was on his way to meet  us too.

Look at the stars, look how they shine for you~

More stars!

They're obviously excited. And happy. 😀

With Jhoann (and some random girl at the back)

We felt like we were in a club when this happened. 😉

Some random couple slow dancing to a cheery Christmas song. And they weren't even "dancing" during the show proper! What is random.

Thea and I 🙂

And look who made it just in time! 🙂

Jhoann, Thea and Louie 🙂

Louie’s also been a good friend for 7 years! (We’re actually part of one big, happy barkada :D)

I like this photo as I look thinner! *vanity moment*

We waited for the final show to end before heading off to Distrito night market, which is Makati’s version of Banchetto and Mercato Centrale.

With this little escapade, was I able to feel the Christmas spirit? Oh yes.

The lights and sounds show was lovely and mesmerizing. There were numerous times when I just watched in awe at the pretty lights. We even sang and danced to a few of the songs. I actually felt like I was a little kid, enjoying Christmas for the first time.

Also, how can one not be in a festive mood, when you’re with awesome friends?   🙂

My lovely friends. They seem to be permanent fixtures in this blog, yes? 🙂

I wish you all had a wonderful Christmas season! Can’t wait for this year’s. 🙂

Hello, that is me. 🙂

***

All photos are the property of littlegirlgoesplaces. All taken with Lulu. 🙂

4 Responses to “City Travels: Feeling Festive at the Ayala Triangle Park”

  1. chyng January 6, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    ganda! im such a loser, araw araw ko nadaanan yan pero never ko pinuntahan. tamad. hehe

    enjoy your pagudpud trip!

    • ramblinglittlegirl January 6, 2012 at 12:58 am #

      Hi Chyng! This year lang din ako nakapunta kasi ayaw ko mag-OT. hehe.

      Thank you! Si kuya Arnel kukunin kong tour guide 🙂

  2. Corrine January 9, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Ayun si ate at kuya na nagsslowdance!

    • ramblinglittlegirl January 10, 2012 at 12:20 am #

      Hi Hanna! Super random at parang out of place yung couple na yun. Not to mention super cheesy! 😛

Leave a Reply

