Washed Up in Mabini, Batangas

3 Jan

My friends went on another Bgy. Malimatoc escapade last December, in time for the barangay fiesta. I wasn’t able to tag along this time because of my work schedule. (First time I didn’t join in. *sad*) This prompted me to try to squeeze in and write another post on Bgy. Malimatoc. 🙂

In my own world, every out of town escapade is not complete without a trip to the beach. I may not know how to swim and the idea of death by drowning terrifies me, but I still love the beach. I feel calm and collected when I laze about in the sand, like all the problems in the world are going away as I hear the waves crash to the shore. Come to think of it, most of my travels have involved a trip down to the beach. And my escapades to Bgy. Malimatoc are no exception.

The village and place we were staying at may be perched along the slopes of a mountain, but a 15- to 20-minute hike down will eventually bring you to one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve seen. Beautiful, in a sense that the place was quiet and serene. The only sounds you’ll hear are the waves crashing to the shore. (Very therapeutic, yes?) And it’s only you, the sand, some trees and the water. Yes, the beaches here have no establishments whatsoever and have been untouched by capitalists (hopefully they would remain as such for a long time).

Saluyan beach

For my first two trips in 2007 and 2008, we went to a beach they called Saluyan. The trek down is relatively easier as the first part involved walking down a cemented road. It was still pretty steep, but it was definitely easier than the climb up and down Mt. Gulugod Baboy. 

2007 trip, at the start of the trek down

The next part involved going through a forest, literally. There was a little path paved probably for the visitors, and only one person can pass at a time. So in a single file, we braved the different shrubs and plants that we encountered in that area. I felt like an explorer out in a jungle, just missing a knife to cut the stray branches that were in my way. I remember grabbing on to one of the plants because I was losing balance and getting a strange icky substance on my hand. Hopefully I didn’t squish some insect or animal. :/

With the boys and Jhoann

Going down, down, down, down, down

You had to watch your step and way as there were unknown creatures there as well. Kuya Sande even said to watch out for snakes. Thankfully, we didn’t encounter any.

We knew we were nearing our destination as soon as we heard the water and the sound of the leaves swaying against the wind. I could remember we were shouting with excitement as we begun to get out of the forest.

2008, the year of the peace sign pose, my friends.

Eras took one of the flag thingies on the way down. It was the town fiesta, hence the decorations all over Bgy. Malimatoc II. I look high (but I wasn't, I swear!).

Going down again. We were all extra careful!

Look at this view!

We immediately put our bags down and took a few photos. The first time in 2007, we took a lot of photos since we were only four in the group. We took advantage of the awesome scenery. Plus, we even saw a rainbow!

Saluyan beach

So inviting, yes?

Hello rainbow! That's Jhoann and Eras 🙂 And that at the background is an abandoned ship. We weren't able to go there though.

Of course, emo photos are in order as well.

Hi Melch! This is actually a stolen shot. He's VERY camera-shy. 🙂

Because the waters were calm, we were able to go boat riding! Kuya Sande knew the owner of one of the bangkas docked by the shore, so we politely asked if we could borrow it. Of course, the owner said yes!

Camwhoring, before sailing off!

Bye!

The next time we went with a much larger group, the boys immediately took off their shirts and headed toward the water. Unfortunately, the current was pretty strong so we didn’t go too far out in the ocean. Of course, you wouldn’t expect me to swim (wade) off into the ocean, yes?

We were obviously, very happy 😀

I couldn't go far away from the shore. I mean look at those waves!

While the boys were busy swimming and such, I went off to the rocky area of the shore. I think I was feeling emo at that time and needed a few moments to sit down, listen to the waves and think.

Hence, this photo. Thanks Jhoann for taking this!

It was getting late, so we decided to make a bonfire. By we, meaning the boys. Haha. Us girls just watched and took photos of their attempts.

Gathered wood and used their lighter(s). Jhoann looks on.

And after a lot of futile attempts…

We(they) did it!

The fire we made was actually so big! We had to put it out after a while though as it was getting really late and we would be passing by the same jungle on the way up. We managed to do it anyway and we got home safe and sound (scared out of our minds, though).

Soliven beach

The escapade in 2011 brought us to another beach, which is actually on the opposite end of Saluyan. Jhoann wanted to bring us there as there was more shade and the view was actually nicer. The trek however, was nothing but nice.

We went there the same day of our Mt. Gulugod Baboy hike, so you could imagine the exhaustion I was feeling even before we started going down the mountain. But since I wanted to go to the beach, I sucked it all in and regained every ounce of strength and will power left in my body. I’m not exaggerating, my legs and feet were already killing me!

The path we went through is twice as hard as that of Saluyan’s. It was literally a jungle (not exaggerating again). It was steep and it had rained the night before, so you could imagine how slippery it was.

THIS is where we had to pass through to get to the beach.

Most of the photos going down are from Jhoann since again, I feared for my life and safety during the trek. And it was during this time that I slipped, fell on my butt and shrieked like a little girl. Good thing I was holding on to random rock/branch. If I hadn’t, I would’ve been rolling down the mountain (not kidding).

Before I fell down. Look at me all sweaty and haggard-looking. That's my friend, Joseph, who really helped me as we went down. Thanks Sep!

After what seemed like eternity, I could finally hear the waves crashing against the rocks! And look what greeted us:

All worth it. Look at this view!

Yup, it was all worth it as the beach was just as lovely as Saluyan. It was quieter, there were more trees that provided shade – just perfect for beach bums like me.

We then headed out and swam (while I waded). I semi-feared for my life once again as the rocks we were walking over were pretty sharp. And we couldn’t see them! One misstep and it’s hello cuts and bruises. I actually got a few cuts and wounds on my feet and legs from these rocks.

Lots of rocks!

A complete group photo. Thank you self-timer!

The current wasn't strong but there were a lot of rocks underwater!

We had brought snacks, juice and water as swimming is rather tiring.

Apologies for the feet. They're all dirty from the adventures they went through.

Hello friends 🙂

We lazed around for a bit, took photos and even played a card game (our own version of Pusoy Dos) atop of a rock. It was getting pretty late and since the hike back to the house was more dangerous because a) it was getting dark, b) the path was still slippery and c) we weren’t completely dry yet, we headed back.

Can I just say that the hike up was one of the most difficult walks I’ve ever gone on. It was pretty hard on my body that I had an asthma attack, just as we reached the barangay. I had to sit down for a while and rest while my lung tries to breathe normally. But no worries, I was able to recover and arrived safe and alive at the house.

***

Judging from the length of this post and the amount of pictures included (there are even more!), it is safe to say that I immensely enjoyed these trips to the beach. While these may not be the conventional (and relatively easy-to-go-to) escapes, it certainly is as enjoyable. Every beach bum who finds him/herself in Bgy. Malimatoc II should definitely head on down to Saluyan and Soliven beaches.

A happy little girl.

2 Responses to “Washed Up in Mabini, Batangas”

  1. juvifish January 7, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    the picture with the rainbow and abandoned ship reminded me of the movie, goonies.

    • ramblinglittlegirl January 8, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      Hi Juvi! Haven’t watched that movie yet! Will download then 🙂

Leave a Reply

